The Silver Life - Online community and resource for active Silver Surfers

Online Community & Resource for Active Silver Surfers

The Silver Life

Online Community & Resource for Active Silver Surfers

Your story – Elizabeth

Your story - Peter
Your story - Michael

First Name: Elizabeth
Gender: Female
Age: 80 or older
Children: No

Highest school level: Some High School but no diploma

Social background: I retired to Spain some 30+ years ago and have lived there ever since.

Career: I have undertaken some low-key property management tasks for friends wishing to lease out their holiday homes.

Retirement plans: Already wholly retired

Forced into retirement: No

Retirement preparation: I did not really prepare for my retirement but I was attracted by the lifestyle available in Spain and I have not been disappointed.

Describe typical day: Slow mornings, coffee with friends and attending to personal chores. I always seem to be very busy and I’m never able to reach ‘zero inbox’.

Look forward to retirement: Yes

Expectations: To enjoy a warmer climate. To stay healthy and not be obliged to return to my country of birth due to declining health.

Hobbies: No

Continue to work: No

Retraining: No

What would you change about second career: Nothing at all.

Encounter ageism: I did not really encounter any problems but I feel I have become more ‘invisible’ to some younger people as I have grown older.

Did you relocate: Yes

Live near family: Yes

Advice for others: Do it as soon as you reasonably can but keep busy during your retirement.

Share your story with us:

Share This Article

About the Author: Anon.

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Go to Top