The Silver Life - Online community and resource for active Silver Surfers

Online Community & Resource for Active Silver Surfers

The Silver Life

Online Community & Resource for Active Silver Surfers

Your story – Giff

Your story - male attorney
Your story - Peter

First name: Giff
Age: 60-79
Gender: Male
Children: 2 adult children

Highest school level: College/University degree

Social background: Retired early at age 55, spend winters in Fl and summers in Mountains of NC.

Career: Retired as CEO of investment management subsidiary of major US bank.

Retirement plans: Already wholly retired

Forced into retirement: No

Retirement preparation: Started saving (401K and personal savings) when I was 25.

Describe typical day: Read newspaper, Bible study, personal projects, golf or golf practice, workout or walk, evening recreations (small church groups, local high school athletics, fly tying, etc).

Look forward to retirement: Yes

Expectations: Enjoy my time with my personal objectives vs going to the office.

Hobbies: Very few when working (exercise, golf, mostly weekend)

Continue to work: No

Retraining: N/A

What would you change about second career: If I had to do it over, I might have started a part time second career not for money but to occupy some of my time.

Encounter ageism: Normal

Did you relocate: No

Live near family: No

Advice for others: Start saving early, live on a budget and start a list of how you want to spend your time.

By Published On: January 24, 2020Categories: To Retire Or Not To Retire0 Comments on Your story – Giff

Share This Article

About the Author: Anon.

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Go to Top