The Silver Life - Online community and resource for active Silver Surfers

Online Community & Resource for Active Silver Surfers

The Silver Life

Online Community & Resource for Active Silver Surfers

Your story – male attorney

Your story - Danny
Your story - Giff

Age: 80 or older
Gender: Male
Children: yes—three

Highest school level: College/University degree

Social background: Attorney practising for 50 years—married for 55 years—3 children and 8 grandchildren.

Career: Attorney in law firm for 34 years—then 25 years as general counsel for banks and businesses—final position was General Counsel for a bank holding company—teach part time (adjunct) at university for last 10 years.

Retirement plans: Already partially retired

Forced into retirement: No

Retirement preparation: Planned for retirement and continuing to teach one course at university—to travel more because of flexibility.

Describe typical day: Sleep late, read paper, doctors appointments, attend charity related meetings, attend spiritual gatherings, teach one day per week.

Look forward to retirement: Yes

Expectations: Slower pace

Hobbies: Yes—-hunting , fishing, reading assisting charitable/religious organizations.

Continue to work: no

Retraining: no

What would you change about second career: nothing

Encounter ageism: judgment valued by peers.

Did you relocate: No

Live near family: Yes

Advice for others: Plan it—think through goals and expectations—make sure they fit financial capabilities.

Share This Article

About the Author: Anon.

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Go to Top